Betting on the Winter Stakes:

Offering best odds of 3 TABs + A $250 Bet Bonus!
Simply deposit as little as $30 and get a free $100 bet to spend!
Better odds than 3 totes and new members get a FREE $200 bet bonus!
Offering a fantastic $200 bet that can't lose via phone or internet!

Winter Stakes race odds from: Sportsbet | IASbet | Centrebet

One of the more famous Australian winter horse races, the Winter Stakes was first staged in 1989 and it is the last Group 1 race in the Australian horse racing calendar. It is held every June at the Eagle Farm racecourse at the final race day of the Brisbane Winter Carnival.

The Winter Stakes is open to fillies and mares under weight-for-age conditions. The race is a middle-distance gallop run that is staged over 1400 metres. In 2009, it had a prize pool of $500,000 which makes it one of the most prestigious and lucrative horse races of the Brisbane Turf Club.

This race features the top female horses in Queensland and other interstate fillies and mares.

The racing day of the Winter Stakes also features two Group 3 races such as the Tattersall’s Cup which has a prize pool of $200,000 and the WJ Healy Stakes which has a prize pool of $175,000.

The fillies and mares that are interested in racing at the Winter Stakes during the last leg of the Brisbane Winter Carnival can join any of the ideal lead-up races that can fine-tune their skills for the said races. Competitors can try the Group 3, 1350-metre Lady of the Turf Stakes at the Doomben racecourse in May and the Group 2, 1400-metre Dane Ripper Quality. These races are good Winter Stakes tune-ups.

The last race horse to win both the Dane Riper Quality and the Winter Stakes was Tripping in 1996. Other horses that won the Winter Stakes and went on to greatness are Mamzelle Pedrille in 1995, Dane Ripper in 1997 and Miss Potential in 2004. Meanwhile, Bonanova is the only race horse to have won back-to-back editions of the Winter Stakes. She did the feat in 1999 and 2000.

In 2009, jockey M. Cahill and Russeting took the top prize over S. Scriven and Prima Nova and P. Robl and Subtle Cove. Before the race, Russeting was pegged with a 19.00 betting odd by bookmakers while Prima Nova and Subtle Cove had horse racing betting odds of 31.00 and 51.00 respectively.

The pre-race favourites, Forensics and Absolut Glam which had betting odds of 2.50 and 4.20 finished sixth and ninth respectively.

Here is the full result for the 2009 Winter Stakes:

Betting Odd Winner Weight Jockey
1. $19.00 Russeting 57.0 M Cahill
2. $31.00 Prima Nova 57.0 S Scriven
3. $51.00 Subtle Cove 57.0 P Robl
4. $26.00 Tempest Tost 55.5 D Gauci
5. $51.00 Dane Julia 57.0 M J Walker
6. $2.50 Forensics 57.0 K McEvoy
7. $9.00 Chinchilla Rose 57.0 P Wells
8. $17.00 Express Air 55.5 T Angland
9. $4.20 Absolut Glan 57.0 D Oliver
10. $31.00 Imananabaa 57.0 B Pengelly
11. $31.00 Amberino 57.0 J L Taylor
12. $26.00 Serious Speed 57.0 S Seamer
13. $41.00 Danehill Smile 57.0 S King
14. $21.00 Dorf Command 55.5 J Byrne
15. $26.00 Jacqueline Rouge 57.0 S Galloway
16. $71.00 Zilzie 57.0 D J Browne
17. $21.00 illuminates 57.0 L Cassidy
18. $16.00 Saint Minerva 55.5 G Colless
19. $18.00 Marveen 55.5 Nicholas Hall
20. $501.00 Welcome Site 57.0 Brent Evans

Winter Stakes Historical Results

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2009 Russeting Prima Nova Subtle Cove 1:22.6
2008 Absolut Glam Fritzs Princess Alverta 1:24.0
2007 Nova Star Fashions Alfield J Adane 1:22.0
2006 La Sizeranne Gee I Jane Villa Bled 1:31.2
2005 Charmview Tui Song Yvonne 1:28.9
2004 Miss Potential Paraca Rodrigo ROse 1:28.1
2003 Mon Mekki With My Recurring 1:27.7
2002 Heptonstall Princess Clang Omens 1:28.6
2001 Porto Roca Dynamic Love Heather 1:28.7
2000 Bonanova Crestfallen StellaMaree 1:28.6
1999 Bonanova Staging Amesia 1:31.3
1998 Razer Blade Zalinda Gunalda 1:28.5
1997 Dane Ripper Amber Monica 1:34.1
1996 Tripping Bionic Bess Mamzelle Pedrille 1:28.9
1995 Mamzelle Pedrille Futile Lady Nickelii 1:19.3
1994 Zetoile Danjiki Racing Ruler 1:28.7
1993 Rich Pageantry Bankers Hope Ivy Cottage 1:27.7
1992 Blushing Bijou Miss Muncher Guilded Queen 1:28.0
1991 Rose Road Hysterical Fanfrelita 1:28.2
1990 Pipers Belle Astral Whistling 1:30.2
1989 La Posette Shuzohra Christen 1:29.5


$250 Bonus Bet! Bonus Bet*

$250 Bonus Bet!

The 2014 Melbourne Cup Guide

Read about this years Melbourne Cup, view race odds, form, history, previous race results, past winners, sweeps and more. Your Melbourne Cup 2014 racing guide online.
If your looking for the latest Melbourne Cup Betting Odds or to compare the leading Australian bookmakers free bet & new member promotions we have you covered.