Betting on the Caulfield Yalumba Stakes:

Offering best odds of 3 TABs + A $250 Bet Bonus!
Simply deposit as little as $30 and get a free $100 bet to spend!
Better odds than 3 totes and new members get a FREE $200 bet bonus!
Offering a fantastic $200 bet that can't lose via phone or internet!

Caulfield Racecourse

Yalumba Stakes Free Bet Promotions:

Yalumba Stakes Race Odds from: Sportsbet | IASbet | Centrebet

The Yalumba Stakes is also known as the Caulfield Stakes and it is a part of the Caulfield Spring Racing Carnival. This race is conducted on the same day as the Toorak Handicap and the Caulfield Guineas. The Yalumba Stakes was first staged in 1866 and the first race was won by Isonomy. However, its race distance then is nine furlongs or about 1800 metres.

Over the years, the schedule and race distance of the Yalumba Stakes has changed. The race was included in Guineas Day in 1887 and it had a race distance of ten furlongs or about 2000 metres until 1888. From 1889 to 1967, the distance of the race was again adjusted to nine furlongs. The race distance of the Yalumba Stakes was fixed to 2000 metres by 1968. Also, the race got Group 1 status in 1979.

This race is often used as a measuring stick for race horses that would go on to compete in either the Caulfield Cup or the WS Cox Plate. The $2.5 million Caulfield Cup is staged a week after this race while the Cox Plate happens two weeks after. Since it is a weight-for-age race, the older race horses have a slight advantage.

Because of this set-up, the winners of the Yalumba Stakes go on to win more prestigious races throughout their career. The high quality of competitors makes the Yalumba Stakes an exciting part of the Caulfield Spring Racing Carnival.

Throughout the history of the Yalumba Stakes, a number of race horses have gone to win back-to-back races. Wakeful won the Yalumba Stakes of 1901 and 1902 while Artillerie did the same feat in 1909 and 1910. High Castle got a two-peat in 1939 and 1940 while Lawrence won in 1944 and 1945. Sky High took the Yalumba Stakes of 1961 and 1962 while Kingston Town won back-to-back in 1981 and 1982. Lohnro is the latest thoroughbred to garner a Yalumba Stakes double and he did it in 2002 and 2003.

Some race horses have won the Yalumba Stakes thrice. Eurythmic became the first triple Yalumba Stakes winner when he won the races of 1920, 1921 and 1922. Lord has also dominated the Yalumba Stakes of 1948, 1949 and 1950 while Winfreux scored a hat trick in 1965, 1966 and 1967.

As for successful runs out of the Yalumba Stakes, Rising Fast had a magical season in 1954 for he won the Yalumba Stakes, Turnbull Stakes, Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Mackinnon Stakes and the Melbourne Cup in one year.

In 2009, the Yalumba Stakes carried a prize pool of $400,000 and it was won by pre-race favourite and the Mark Kavanagh-trained Whobegotyou with jockey Damien Oliver on board. Heart of Dreams and Vision and Power finished second and third out of the eight-horse field.

The 2010 Yalumba Stakes will take place on the 9th of October and you must cast your bets on who you think will win. Visit your trusted online betting site now and place your money on the horses that will bring you good fortune.

Yalumba Stakes Recent History








Heart Of Dreams

Vision And Power



Douro Valley

Pompeii Ruler





Miss Finland




Casual Pass

Pompeii Ruler

El Segundo



El Segundo

Fields Of Omagh




$250 Bonus Bet! Bonus Bet*

$250 Bonus Bet!

The 2014 Melbourne Cup Guide

Read about this years Melbourne Cup, view race odds, form, history, previous race results, past winners, sweeps and more. Your Melbourne Cup 2014 racing guide online.
If your looking for the latest Melbourne Cup Betting Odds or to compare the leading Australian bookmakers free bet & new member promotions we have you covered.