Betting on the Turnbull Stakes:

Offering best odds of 3 TABs + A $250 Bet Bonus!
Simply deposit as little as $30 and get a free $100 bet to spend!
Better odds than 3 totes and new members get a FREE $200 bet bonus!
Offering a fantastic $200 bet that can't lose via phone or internet!

Flemington Race Track

Flemington Race Track

Turnbull Stakes Odds from: Sportsbet | IASbet | Centrebet

As one of the tune-up races for the Melbourne Cup, the Turnbull Stakes was first staged in 1948 and was won by Beau Gem. During that time, the race distance of the said race was a lengthy 2400 metres. It wasn’t until 1971 that its race distance was adjusted to its current length of 2000 metres. The race also carried Group 2 status until it was elevated into Group 1 in 2006.

Over the years, the racing conditions of the Turnbull Stakes have changed as well. From 1948 to 1963, it was staged under Handicap conditions. However, its rules were converted into Weight-For-Age from 1964 to 1970. Since 1971, the Turnbull Stakes is staged under set weights conditions and violating competitors will be given penalties.

This Group 1 Thoroughbred flat race was named after former Victoria Racing Club Chairman Richard Turnbull. Before the name change, this race carried names such as the September Stakes, the October Stakes and the Royal Park Stakes. At present, this annual Australian horse race is held every late September or early October at the Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne and it is part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Throughout the race’s history, only two horses have won the Turnbull Stakes more than once and both horses did it in back-to-back fashion. Comic Court first did the feat in 1949 and 1950. More than three decades later, Vo Rogue also won consecutive Turnbull Stakes races in 1987 and 1988.

Due to its set weights rule and its race distance, the Turnbull Stakes is usually for stayers that have proven their endurance on the race track. Winners of this race usually record winning times of a little above two minutes. Out of the competitors from the Turnbull Stakes, four have won the Melbourne Cup, another four won the Caulfield cup while eight have won the WS Cox Plate.

Aside from being an ideal lead-up race for the Melbourne Cup, the Turnbull Stakes is also used as a tune-up race by race horses that are eyeing the 2000-metre Yalumba Stakes and the 2400-metre Caulfield Cup. The Yalumba Stakes is held at the Caulfield Racecourse one week after the Turnbull Stakes while the Caulfield Cup is conducted two weeks after.

At present, the Turnbull Stakes has a total prize purse of $502,000 and majority of it went to Efficient when he won the 2009 Turnbull Stakes. The six-year-old Efficient was jockeyed to victory by Nicholas Hall and trained by John D. Sadler. Efficient had a winning time of two minutes, 1.60 seconds. Predatory Pricer and Scenic Shot finished in second and third place respectively.

The 2010 Turnbull Stakes will be held on the 2nd of October and punter are lining up at online horse race betting website to cast their bets on their chosen winners. You too can beat the rush and cast your bets as early as now. If you make the right choices, your money will grow as easy as 1-2-3.

Turnbull Stakes Recent History








Predatory Pricer

Scenic Shot




Master O’Reilly




Devil Moon

Scenic Shot





Our Smoking Joe

Aqua D Amore



Makybe Diva

Lad Of The Manor




$250 Bonus Bet! Bonus Bet*

$250 Bonus Bet!

The 2014 Melbourne Cup Guide

Read about this years Melbourne Cup, view race odds, form, history, previous race results, past winners, sweeps and more. Your Melbourne Cup 2014 racing guide online.
If your looking for the latest Melbourne Cup Betting Odds or to compare the leading Australian bookmakers free bet & new member promotions we have you covered.