Betting on the Kingston Town Classic:

Offering best odds of 3 TABs + A $250 Bet Bonus!
Simply deposit as little as $30 and get a free $100 bet to spend!
Better odds than 3 totes and new members get a FREE $200 bet bonus!
Offering a fantastic $200 bet that can't lose via phone or internet!

Kingston Town Race Odds: Sportsbet | IASbet | Centrebet

Ascot Races

The 1800-metre Kingston Town Classic is a Group 1 Australian thoroughbred horse race that was first staged in 1976. It was named after the Australian Racing Hall of Fame horse Kingston Town who won this race in 1982. This weight-for-age race is annually held every December at the Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia. It carries a prize money purse of $500,000.

Since its initial staging, this race has carried many names. From 1976 to 1979, it was known as the Marlboro 50,000 and from 1980 to 1983, it was known as the Western Mail Classic. From 1984 to 1987, it carried the name Rothwells Stakes.

It was then known as the Winfield Stakes from 1988 to 1991 and it was named the Beat Diabetes 2 Stakes from 1992 to 1994. From 1995 to 2006, it was known as the Fruit N’ Veg Stakes while its current name, Kingston Town Classic, was formalized in 2007. In 1999 and 2000, the race distance of the Kingston Town Classic is at 1600 metres and it had a race distance of over 2000 metres in 2003.

The Kingston Town Classic is the second biggest race during the Perth Summer Racing Carnival and it attracts the best interstate race horses and the best local thoroughbreds. Usually, the participants of this race have competed at the Group 2, 1400-metre Lee Steere Stakes, the Group 2, 1600-metre WA Guineas and the Group 1, 1600-metre Railway Stakes before competing.

Meanwhile, the Kingston Town Classic is a good lead-up race for the Group 2, 2100-metre CB Cox Stakes. Recent winners of the Kingston Town Classic include Niconero in 2006 and 2008 and Megatic in 2007. In 2009, Sniper’s Bullet scored a Railway Stakes-Kingston Town Classic double. He finished third at the 2008 Kingston Town Classic.

From the wide gate, Sniper’s Bullet was able to get a good position at the middle of the pace that was set by Dante’s Banquet. Then, Sniper’s Bullet surged to the lead at the straight before coming home with the victory. Three-year-old horse God Has Spoken settled for second place while Scenic Shot grabbed the third spot.

Kingston Town Classic Recent History:

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2009 Sniper’s Bullet God Has Spoken Scenic Shot 1:46.9
2008 Niconero Gilded Venom Sniper’s Bullet 1:46.9
2007 Megatic Guyno New Spice 1:48.0
2006 Niconero Scenic Shot Daka’s Gem 1:47.4
2005 Early Express Lock The Vault Bon Argent 1:48.0


$250 Bonus Bet! Bonus Bet*

$250 Bonus Bet!

The 2014 Melbourne Cup Guide

Read about this years Melbourne Cup, view race odds, form, history, previous race results, past winners, sweeps and more. Your Melbourne Cup 2014 racing guide online.
If your looking for the latest Melbourne Cup Betting Odds or to compare the leading Australian bookmakers free bet & new member promotions we have you covered.