The Doomben 10,000 Free Bet Promotions:

Offering best odds of 3 TABs + A $250 Bet Bonus!
Simply deposit as little as $30 and get a free $100 bet to spend!
Better odds than 3 totes and new members get a FREE $200 bet bonus!
Offering a fantastic $200 bet that can't lose via phone or internet!

The Doomben 10,000

Doomben 10,000  Race Odds from: Sportsbet | IASbet | LuxBet

The Doomben 10,000 is a sprint race that is contested over 1350 metres at the Doomben Racecourse in Brisbane. The race was first held in 1933 and the initial race was won by Wallen. Back then, the race had a distance of six furlongs which is approximately 1200 metres. Also, the race was then known as the T.M Ahearn Memorial.

Doomben Races

In 1942, the race distance was stretched to seven furlongs or close to 1400 metres and the race that year was won by Auction. The race distance would stay that way until 1973 when the metric system was introduced in Australia. The distance of the Doomben 10,000 was once again adjusted to 1350 and the inaugural winner under the metric system distance is Bengalla Lad.

Aside from the race distance, the name of the race has changed over the years as well. From its original name T.M Ahearn Memorial, the name was changed to the Doomben Newmarket Handicap. In 1947, the name was once again changed to the BATC Doomben 10,000. In 1980, the race was known as the BATC Rothman’s 10,000. Ten years after, the race’s name was changed to the BATC Castlemaine 10,000.

In 1993, the name BATC Doomben 10,000 was once again used but in 1996, the name was revised to the BTC Doomben 10,000. In 2001, the race had an official name of BTC Treasury Casino 10,000 and from 2002, the race was known once again as the BTC Doomben 10,000. The race is named such because the prize purse of the race was once fixed at 10,000 pounds.

During that time, the Doomben 10,000 was the richest sprint race in Australia. At present, the race still has a hefty prize purse of $650,000 that is being contested by the best sprint racers in Australian horse racing. From 1933 to 1979, the race was classified as a principal race and it was elevated to Group 1 status in 1980. Hit It Benny won the first race under Group 1 classification. Meanwhile, the last race horse to win the race under the Principal classification is the great Manikato.

Given the short distance of this weight-for-age open race, the lighter horses often have the advantage for they can use their speed to win the race. It is hard to bounce back from mistakes since the course is short and the race can be over in about 80 seconds. Thus, a strong kick from the barrier gates is needed by competing horse races to win the race.

The 1350-metre course of the Doomben 10,000 starts in the chute before the first turn. Early leaders will usually have an advantage but given the speed of the competing race horses, it is possible to come from behind and snatch a victory. To prepare for this race, competitors usually participate in the Group 1 BTC Cup as a tune-up for this race.

Then, the participants of the Doomben 10,000 usually go on to participate in the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap which happens two weeks after the Doomben 10,000. The Doomben 10,000 is one of the main attractions of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival which is conducted every May. Throughout the history of the Doomben 10,000, there have only been four multi-winners.

Black Onyx became the first thoroughbred to win the Doomben 10,000 more than once when he scored back to back victories in 1969 and 1970. Next to do so is Prince Trialia in 1990 and 1991 while Falvelon also did the same thing in 2001 and 2002. Apache Cat is the latest multiple Doomben 10,000 winner when he won two straight in 2008 and 2009.

In the 2000 Doomben 10,000, Mr. Innocent won the race in 1 minute, 18.8 seconds with Easy Rocking and Falvelon finishing at second and third place respectively. At the 2001 edition, Falvelon went on to take home the crown in 1 minute, 17.2 seconds. Finishing behind Falvelon is Spinning Hill while coming in at third is Mr. Innocent.

In 2002, Falvelon won his second Doomben 10,000 with the time of 1 minute, 18.8 seconds while Show a Heart finished second and Lord Essex finished in third place. At the 2003 Doomben 10,000, Bel Esprit won the race in 1 minute, 18.3 seconds with Private Steer finishing in second place while Spinning Hill came in at third.

In 2004, Super Elegant took home the top honours in 1 minute, 17.7 seconds. Finishing at second place is Our Egyptian Raine while Scenic Peak took third place. In 2005, Red Dog won the Doomben 10,000 in 1 minute, 18.6 seconds. Our Egyptian Raine recorded his second runner-up finish while Takeover Target came in at third.

Undue won the 2006 Doomben 10,000 in 1 minute, 18 seconds. He was chased by Impaler which finished second and Street Smart which finished third.

Takeover Target won the 2007 edition of the race in 1 minute, 18.5 seconds. Second place went to Gold Edition while third place went to Mitanni. In the 2008 Doomben 10,000, Apache Cat won with a time of 1 minute, 17.9 seconds while Murtajil and Turffontein crossed the finish line in second and third place respectively.

The 2009 edition was once again won by Apache Cat in the time of 1 minute, 22.4 seconds. Black Piranha finished in second place and All Silent took home third place. The 2010 Doomben 10,000 was won by Hot Danish in 1 minute, 19.1 seconds while carrying betting odds of 5.50. The 57-kilogram Hot Danish was navigated by jockey Tim Clark for the victory.

Getting second place is Whobegotyou with betting odds of 8.00 and he finished 1 ¼ lengths behind Hot Danish. Finishing the 2010 Doomben 10,000 at third place is Melito with betting odds of 5.50. Jockey Brad Shinn guided the 55-kilogram race horse which finished just a short neck behind Whobegotyou.

Other top favourites, Ortensia and Phelan Ready, finished 8th and 11th respectively. The 57-kilogram Ortensia had betting odds of 6.50 and was guided that day by jockey John Bowman. Meanwhile, Phelan Ready had betting odds of 9.00 and jockey Stathi Katsidis on board. Doomber 10,000 2009 winner Apache Cat did not participate in the 2010 edition.


$250 Bonus Bet! Bonus Bet*

$250 Bonus Bet!

The 2014 Melbourne Cup Guide

Read about this years Melbourne Cup, view race odds, form, history, previous race results, past winners, sweeps and more. Your Melbourne Cup 2014 racing guide online.
If your looking for the latest Melbourne Cup Betting Odds or to compare the leading Australian bookmakers free bet & new member promotions we have you covered.