The Australian Guineas Free Bet Promotions:

Offering best odds of 3 TABs + A $250 Bet Bonus!
Simply deposit as little as $30 and get a free $100 bet to spend!
Better odds than 3 totes and new members get a FREE $200 bet bonus!
Offering a fantastic $200 bet that can't lose via phone or internet!

The Australian Guineas

Australian Guineas Odds

Name SportsBet Odds
We Can Say It Now $6.00
Playing God $8.00
Southern Speed $8.00
Under The Eiffel $8.50
Bullbars $12.00
Anacheeva $15.00
Eclair Surprise $17.00
Enjin Number Nine $19.00
Skilled $21.00
Spirited Eagle $21.00
* Note: Odds are subject to change and correct at time of publication 9:30pm AEDST 28/02/2011. All prices are Fixed Win.

The Australian Guineas is one of the newest Group 1 races in Australian horse racing. It was first held in 1986 and the inaugural race was won by True Version. It started as a Group 3 race but it was elevated to Group 1 status in 1987. Throughout the years, the race distance of the Australian Guineas has changed as well. From 1986 to 1997, the race distance of the Australian Guineas is at 1600 metres.

However, the distance was adjusted to 2000 metres and it was used from 1998 to 2000. In 1998, the race was even included in the first Australian Triple Crown for three-year-old thoroughbreds.  After the 2000 edition, the distance was brought back to 1600 metres which is used up to now. Its current distance makes it an ideal race for race horses that specializes in middle distances.

The Australian Guineas is exclusively for three-year-old horses at set weight conditions and it is held at the Flemington Races as part of the Flemington Autumn Racing Carnival. Fillies are given a 2.5-kilogram allowance. The prize purse of the Australian Guineas reached $1 million but it was reduced to $750,000.

Flemington Races Track Map:

Flemington Races

In 2007, the race was held at the Caulfield Races due to the rehabilitation of the Flemington Racecourse. That year, Miss Finland won the race in 1 minute, 36 seconds against second-place finisher Casino Prince and third place finisher Jokers Wild. When the Australian Guineas was elevated to Group 1 status in 1987, the race was won by Military Plume. In 1988, Flotilla took home the top prize.

The year 1989 saw King’s High win the Australian Guineas while Zabeel took the top honors in 1990. Triscay, Jolly Old Mac and Kenny’s Best Pal took home the winning prizes in 1991, 1992 and 1993 respectively while Mahogany, Baryshnikov and Flying Spur were the Australian Guineas winners in 1992, 1995 and 1996 respectively.

Mouawad won the race in 1997 while Gold Guru sparkled his way to victory in 1998 and Dignity Dancer took home the Australian Guineas of 1999. In the 2000 Australian Guineas, Pins won the race in 2 minutes, 2.3 seconds with Freemason and Hades finishing at second and third place respectively.

At the 2001 Australian Guineas, Mr. Murphy went on to take home the crown in 1 minute, 34.4 seconds. Finishing behind Mr. Murphy is Neptune’s Journey while coming in at third is Outgate. The following year, Dash for Cash won the race in 1 minute, 35.3 seconds while Royal Code and Ustinov finished in second and third place respectively.

At the 2003 Australian Guineas, Delago Brom won the race in 1 minute, 35.9 seconds with Tycoon Ruler finishing in second place while Thom Park came in at third place. The 2004 Australian Guineas saw Reset take home the top honours in 1 minute, 34.5 seconds. Finishing at second place is Starcraft while Under the Bridge took third place.

In 2005, Al Maher won the Australian Guineas in 1 minute, 34.4 seconds while Danehill Express and Econsul won second and third place respectively. At the 2006 Australian Guineas, Apache Cat showed his quickness by winning the race in 1 minute, 34 seconds. He was chased by Darcy Brahma which finished second and Thin and Crispy which finished third.

Miss Finland won the 2007 Australian Guineas in 1 minute, 36 seconds. Second place went to Casino Prince while the third place went to Jokers Wild. In the 2008 Australian Guineas, Light Fantastic grabbed the top spot in 1 minute, 36.4 seconds while Marching and Playwright crossed the finish line in second and third place respectively.

The 2009 Australian Guineas was won by Heart of Dreams in the time of 1 minute, 35.8 seconds. Von Costa De Hero finished in second place while Lucky Thunder took home third place. The 2010 Australian Guineas was won by Rock Classic in 1 minute, 36.8 seconds while carrying betting odds of 18.00. The 55.5-kilogram Rock Classic was guided to victory by jockey Michael Rodd.

At second place is Set For Fame with jockey Luke Nolen. Coming into the race, Set for Fame had betting odds of 5.50 and he finished 1 ¼ lengths behind Rock Classic. Finishing the 2010 Australian Guineas in third place is Linton with identical betting odds of 5.50.

Jockey Nicholas Hall guided the 55.5-kilogram Linton to claim the third spot and they finished ¾ lengths behind Set for Fame. Top favourite Denman finished in fourth place despite having betting odds of 1.60 and despite being navigated by jockey Kerrin McEvoy.

Jockey Craig Williams and thoroughbred Carrara finished in fifth place while Most Immediate took home sixth place. Carrara and Most Immediate both weighed 55.5 kilograms but Carrara’s betting odds are better than Most Immediate’s, 21.00 to 51.00. Chief of Staff finished second to the last while Guru Bob and jockey Danny Nikolic finished in eighth and last place.

The initial nominations for the 2011 Australian Guineas have already been conducted and 165 horses will be screened until a final field is determined. Trainer Peter Moody has the most number of nominees with 13 while Anthony Cummings and Peter Snowden have 11 nominations each. Meanwhile, Bart Cummings and Gai Waterhouse have 10 nominees apiece.

Some of the horses that were nominated are Peter Moody’s Anacheeva, Star Witness and Crystal Lily. The final field of competitors will be announced on the 3rd or March, 2011 while the 2011 Australian Guineas will happen on the 5th of March, 2011.



$250 Bonus Bet! Bonus Bet*

$250 Bonus Bet!

The 2014 Melbourne Cup Guide

Read about this years Melbourne Cup, view race odds, form, history, previous race results, past winners, sweeps and more. Your Melbourne Cup 2014 racing guide online.
If your looking for the latest Melbourne Cup Betting Odds or to compare the leading Australian bookmakers free bet & new member promotions we have you covered.