Randwick Guineas Free Bet Promotions:

Offering best odds of 3 TABs + A $250 Bet Bonus!
Simply deposit as little as $30 and get a free $100 bet to spend!
Better odds than 3 totes and new members get a FREE $200 bet bonus!
Offering a fantastic $200 bet that can't lose via phone or internet!

The Randwick Guineas

Randwick Racecourse

Officially, the Randwick Guineas started in 2006 and it replaced the old Canterbury Guineas that was staged since 1935. Originally, the race distance of the Canterbury/Randwick Guineas is nine furlongs and the inaugural race was won by Hadrian. The Canterbury Guineas was elevated to Group 1 status in 1980 and it was carried over for the Randwick Guineas.

At present, the Randwick Guineas has a race distance of 1600 metres and it is held every March as part of the Sydney Racing Carnival at the Royal Randwick Racecourse. Randwick is located just five minutes away from the Central Business District of Sydney and it has the largest racetrack in New South Wales. Its racecourse has a circumference of 2,227 metres and a home straight of 410 metres.

The Royal Randwick Racecourse features sweeping turns and an uphill slope on the home straight. All races at the Randwick Racecourse are governed by the Australian Jockey Club and are staged counter-clockwise. Also, the Randwick Guineas is the first leg of the Sydney Triple Crown for three-year-old horses and the next two legs are the 2000-metre Rosehill Guineas and the 2400-metre AJC Derby.

During the days of the Canterbury Guineas, no race horse has won the race more than once. This shows how competitive the race is due to its set weights rules. For the Randwick Guineas, colts and geldings must weigh 56.5 kilograms while fillies must weigh 54.5 kilograms. To prepare for this hotly contested race, trainers let their thoroughbreds participate 1400-metre, Group 2 Hobartville Stakes.

Meanwhile, the winner of the Randwick Guineas is exempted from the ballot of the AJC Derby and the Doncaster Handicap. After the Randwick Guineas, participants usually race at the 1500-metre, Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes or head over to the Rosehill Guineas or the George Ryder Stakes. Thoroughbreds that compete at the Randwick Guineas are vying for the big share of the $550,000 prize pool.

In the 2006 Randwick Guineas, Hotel Grand booked the victory in 1 minute, 35.8 seconds. Finishing at second place was Flying Pegasus while Primus came in at third place. In the 2007 Randwick Guineas, Mentality won the race in 1 minute, 35.7 seconds. Teranaba settled for second place while Sniper’s Bullet was able to aim third place.

In the 2008 Randwick Guineas, Weekend Hussler hustled its way to victory in 1 minute, 36.3 seconds. Finishing behind Weekend Hussler is Triple Honour while Arlington came in at third place. In the 2009 Randwick Guineas, Metal Bender foiled all opposition by finishing the race in 1 minute, 36.5 seconds. Rock Kingdom finished at second place while Caymans finished third.

The 2010 Randwick Guineas saw Shoot Out rise on top by finishing the race in 1 minute, 34.9 seconds. Viking Legend settled for a runner-up finish while Captain Sonador finished at third. In the 2011 Randwick Guineas, Ilovethiscity took advantage of a good start en route to a victory. Coming in at second place is Skilled while Light Brigade had to settle for third place.

Join Ladbrokes.com.au

$250 Bonus Bet!

Bookmaker.com.au Bonus Bet*

$250 Bonus Bet!

The 2014 Melbourne Cup Guide

Read about this years Melbourne Cup, view race odds, form, history, previous race results, past winners, sweeps and more. Your Melbourne Cup 2014 racing guide online.
If your looking for the latest Melbourne Cup Betting Odds or to compare the leading Australian bookmakers free bet & new member promotions we have you covered.