Golden Slipper, Racing News, Rosehill Races, Sydney Races

The Golden Slipper Stakes

Written By admin On Monday, April 12th, 2010

Bet On The Golden Slipper With:

Offering best odds of 3 TABs + A $250 Bet Bonus!
Simply deposit as little as $30 and get a free $100 bet to spend!
Better odds than 3 totes and new members get a FREE $200 bet bonus!
Offering a fantastic $200 bet that can't lose via phone or internet!

The Golden Slipper

The Golden Slipper Stakes is a Thoroughbred horse race for two-year-old horses and it runs for 1,200 meters at the Rosehill Gardens Racecouse in Sydney, Australia. It is the highlight two-year-old race in the Australian horse racing calendar and it is also the richest race in the world for two-year-old Thoroughbreds.

Rosehill Race Track

This race is usually grouped with other Group 1 races such as the Vinery Stud Stakes, the Queen of the Turf Stakes, The BMW and the George Ryder Stakes in what is widely known as Slipper day. This group of races makes Slipper day one of the biggest horse racing events in Australia and the world. From 2009 and beyond, the race will be held on the first Saturday of April.

Prior to 2008, the race was held on the Saturday before Good Friday to coincide with the Golden Slipper Carnival horse races. In 2008, it was held in mid-April or four weeks after Easter and it carried a prize pool of AUD$3,525,800.
The inaugural Golden Slipper Stakes was first held in 1957 and won by Todman of the Star Kingdom stable. Todman was steered by jockey Neville F. Sellwood. After Todman, the next four winners of the Golden Slipper Stakes also came from the Star Kingdom stable. Until now, many Star Kingdom bloodlines can be traced in recent day winners.

A number of races lead-up to the Golden Slipper Stakes. These races include the Magic Night Stakes and the Reisling Slipper Trial for fillies. For colts and geldings, the Todman Slipper Trial and the Pago Pago Stakes are Golden Slipper lead-up races.

The winners of these lead-up races are qualified for the Golden Slipper stakes while the other slots are filled up through voting. Winners of the Golden Slipper stakes have become two-year-old Thoroughbred horses to reckon with. Some of the past winners of this race became horse racing stars are Bint Marscay (1993), Guineas (1997), Belle de Jour (2000), Dance Hero (2004) and Miss Finland (2006).

During the 2010 edition of the Golden Slipper Stakes, Crystal Lily, Decision Time and More Strawberries won first, second and third place respectively. Crystal Lily was steered to victory by jockey Brett Prebble and trainers Matthew Ellerton and Simon Zahra.

The 2010 Golden Slipper Stakes is the first time that Crystal Lily won. Trainer T.J. Smith is the most successful trainer in Golden Slipper Stakes history for he has won six races by training Fairy Walk (1971), John’s Hope (1972), Hartshill (1974), Toy Show (1975), Bounding Away (1986) and Star Watch (1988).

After T.J. Smith, J.B. “Bart” Cummings, Clarry E. Conners and Lee Freedman have each won four Golden Slipper Stakes apiece. As for the jockeys, Ron Quinton and Shane Dye have the most number of Golden Slipper wins with four apiece while Mick Dittman, Kevin Langby and Athol Mulley have three apiece.


$250 Bonus Bet! Bonus Bet*

$250 Bonus Bet!

The 2014 Melbourne Cup Guide

Read about this years Melbourne Cup, view race odds, form, history, previous race results, past winners, sweeps and more. Your Melbourne Cup 2014 racing guide online.
If your looking for the latest Melbourne Cup Betting Odds or to compare the leading Australian bookmakers free bet & new member promotions we have you covered.